UMass Sesquicentennial
 
 
RESEARCH CLUSTERS
 
OUR PROGRAM
 
FACULTY RESEARCH
 
FACILITIES
 
OUR GRADUATES
 
ACADEMIC REQUIREMENTS
 
HOW TO APPLY
 
SEMINAR & COLLOQUIUM
 
INFO FOR CURRENT STUDENTS
 
CONTACT US
 
MCB HOME
  The Byron Prize for Best Ph.D. Dissertation

Dr. Fred Byron In 1994, the MCB Program established the Byron Prize in honor of Dr. Fred Byron, Vice Chancellor for Research at UMass Amherst.  Dr. Byron was instrumental in establishing the MCB program and showed great vision and support of both research and graduate education throughout his career at UMass. Each fall, students who defended their theses in the previous year can be nominated for the prize by their thesis advisors. The winner is brought back to UMass in the spring to present a talk at the MCB Retreat and receives a cash prize of $1,000.  Prize selection is made by the MCB Steering Committee, which has established the following criteria:
 

Originality and creativity of the research

Impact: significance in the field

Scope of the research project

Scope of techniques used to solve the problem

Quality of writing

Contributions to the MCB program



Previous Prize Winners:



2014

Leslie Conway (Ross Lab)

Postdoctoral Fellow, University of Massachusetts, Amherst

lconway@mcb.umass.edu

 

Ph.D. in 2013
2013

Nathaniel E. Clark (Garman Lab)
Postdoctoral Fellow, University of Texas Health Science Center in San Antonio
clarkn@uthscsa.edu

Ph.D. in 2012
2012 David F. Bruhn (Klingbeil Lab)
Postdoctoral Fellow, St. Jude Children's Hospital - Memphis, TN
David.Bruhn@StJude.org
Ph.D. 2011
2011

Julian Sosnik (Visconti Lab)
Postdoctoral Fellow, University of California, Irvine
jsosnik@UCI.edu

Ph.D. 2010

2010

Bradley Pearse (Hebert Lab)
Postdoctoral Fellow, Harvard Medical School
brad.pearse@gmail.com

Ph.D. 2009
2009

David Sharlin (Zoeller Lab)
Postdoctoral Fellow, NIDDK, NIH
sharlind@mail.nih.gov

Ph.D. 2008
2008 Robert Daniels (Hebert Lab)
Postdoctoral Fellow, Karolinska Institute, Stockholm, Sweden
Ph.D. 2007
2007 Kelly Gauger (Zoeller Lab)
Postdoctoral Fellow, PVLSI (Baystate)
kelly.gauger@bhs.org
Ph.D. 2006
2006 Nasser Rusan (Wadsworth Lab)
Postdoctoral Fellow, UNC Chapel Hill
nasser@email.unc.edu
Ph.D. 2005
2005 Jeremy Smyth (Fissore Lab)
Postdoctoral Fellow, NIEHS, NIH
smythj@niehs.nih.gov
Ph.D. 2004
2004 Heather Thompson (Scordilis Lab) Ph.D. 2003
2003 Thomas King (Fournier Lab)
Sequitur, Inc
Ph.D. 2002
2002 John Wing (Nambu Lab)
Principal Research Investigator, OSE Eyetech
John.Wing@eyetech.com
Ph.D. 2000
2001 Amy Dowling (Zoeller Lab) Ph.D. 2000
2000 Kevin Keith (Fitzgerald-Hayes Lab) Ph.D. 1999
1999 Marie (Sanchirico) Comeaux (Mason Lab) Ph.D. 1998
1998 Rebecca (Bryant) Roberts (Hansen Lab)
Assistant Professor, Ursinus College
rroberts@ursinus.edu
Ph.D. 1998
1997 Wen-Qing Liang  (Fournier Lab) Ph.D. 1997
1996 Sam Stoler (Fitzgerald-Hayes Lab) Ph.D. 1995
1995 Chin Pan (Mason Lab) Ph.D. 1994
1994 My Mahoney (Gross & Slakey Labs)
Professor, Thomas Jefferson University
Ph.D. 1993
1994 William Payne (Fitzgerald-Hayes Lab)

Ph.D. 1993

 

 
 
This page is maintained by Molecular and Cellular Biology Graduate Program
© 2013 University of Massachusetts Amherst • Amherst, MA 01003