Back To the PB Home Page

 

 
Plant Biology Faculty

 

Back To the PB Home Page

The 38 faculty members of the Plant Biology Graduate Program represent five departments at the University as well as Five College faculty from Amherst and Hampshire. The departments at UMass are Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, Biology, Chemical Engineering, Environmental Conservation and Stockbridge School of Agriculture. To find out more about individual faculty, click on their name listed below to link to their faculty home page.

Faculty and graduate students have access to major research facilities including: microbial and plant growth facilities, tissue culture facilities, radioisotope laboratories, facilities for bioinformatics, facilities for monoclonal antibody and recombinant DNA work, a DNA sequencing service, a high-field NMR facility, an imaging facility with confocal and electron microscopy and a mass spectrometry facility. There are several greenhouse complexes on campus including the new CNS research and education greenhouse facility. The Morrill Science Center greenhouses service members of the Biology Department and about half of the greenhouse space is devoted to research projects. The other half is used to maintain a general teaching collection representing more than 680 genera and 1,100 species for courses ranging from angiosperm systematics to plant cell biology. The University of Massachusetts Herbarium is a regional resources with approximately 224,000 mounted vascular plants, algae and bryophytes as well as a fruit and seed collection providing material for systematic studies and plant identification. The Integrated Sciences & Engineering Library provides critical resources for research in the life sciences.


PB FACULTY LISTING (alphabetical by last name)

Name

Dept./Office

Phone (413)

Research Interesth Area

Email address

Adler, Lynn

Biology/
Fernald 102D

545-1060 Ecology and evolution of plant-insect interactions

lsadler@bio.umass.edu

Adler Lab

Alpert, Peter

Biology/
Clark 100A

545-4357

Ecology of plant invasion, resource capture and utilization by clonal plants

palpert@bio.umass.edu

Autio, Wesley

Stockbridge School of Agriculture/ 205 Paige

545-2963

Cropping and economic efficiency of fruit trees on various rootstocks and under different cultural management systems

autio@umass.edu

 

Averill, Anne

Environmental Conservation / Holdsworth 301A

545-1054

Insect pollinators and pollination services in managed ecosystems

averill@eco.umass.edu

Barker, Allen

Stockbridge/ Bowditch 202

545-4733 Plant nutrition

barker@umass.edu

Bartlett, Madelaine

Biology/
Morrill 3 - 108C

545-2235 Diversity of shape and form present in flowering plants.

mbartlett@bio.umass.edu


Baskin, Tobias
(sabb. 9/15)

Biology/
Morrill 3 - 106

545-1533 545-2776 Regulation of plant cell and organ expansion

Baskin@bio.umass.edu

Baskin Lab

Bezanilla, Magdalena

Biology/
Mor. 3 - 122A

545-2885 The role of the actin cytoskeleton in the morphogenesis and development of plant cells

bezanilla@bio.umass.edu

Bezanilla Lab

Bhowmik, Prasanta

Stockbridge School of Agriculture/
Stockbridge 12D

545-5223/ 545-3072

Biology of invasive weeds, allelopathy, integrated weed management

pbhowmik@umass.edu

 

Caicedo, Ana

Biology/ LSL N425

545-0975

Evolutionary genomics of adaptation and divergence in wild, weedy and crop plant species

caicedo@bio.umass.edu

Caicedo Lab

Cannon, Maura

Biochem / Goessmann 54

545-0092

Plant growth and development as influenced by cell wall assembly

mcannon@biochem.umass.edu

Cheung, Alice

Biochem/
LGRT-B 1226

545-4027
545-
4804

Signaling mechanisms in plant growth and reproduction

acheung@biochem.umass.edu

Cooley, Daniel

Stockbridge School of Agriculture/
315 Paige

577-3803

Ecology of plant diseases, integrated pest management, sustainable agriculture

dcooley@umass.edu

Cooley Lab

Craker, Lyle

Stockbridge School of Agriculture/Stockbridge 12A

545-2347

Medicinal and aromatic plants

craker@umass.edu

DaCosta, Michelle

Stockbridge School of Agriculture/ 310 Paige

545-2547

Plant responses to environmental stresses, with emphasis
on drought and temperature stresses of grasses.

mdacosta@umass.edu

Ebdon, Scott

Stockbridge School of Agriculture/ Paige

545-2506

Cultural management of abiotic and biotic stresses in turfgrass systems

sebdon@umass.edu

 

Ellison, Aaron Harvard Forest 978 724-3302
Community Ecology aellison@fas.harvard.edu

Han, Susan

Stockbridge School of Agriculture/
French 204B

545-5228

Physiology of flowering and postharvest care of floricultural crops

susanh@umass.edu

Hashemi, Masoud

Stockbridge School of Agriculture/
Bowditch 207

545-1843

Sustainable food and farming systems with an emphasis on cover crops

masoud@umass.edu

Hazen, Sam

Biology/LSL N427

545-4546

Regulatory networks and natural variation in plant cell wall biosynthesis

hazen@bio.umass.edu

Hazen Lab

Hepler, Peter (emeritus)

Biology/
Morrill 3 - 120

545-2083

Cell division and pollen tube growth; the role of calcium, pH, and the cytoskeleton

hepler@bio.umass.edu

 

Hoopes, Martha

Mt. Holyoke College/ Biology/ 214 Clapp Laboratory

538-2210

Spread dynamics, impacts, and lag times in invasion ecology; metacommunity dynamics, particularly for plants and herbivores

mhoopes@mtholyoke.edu

 

Jeranyama, Peter

Stockbridge- Cranberry Exp. Station, E. Wareham

508 295-2212 x 29

tba

peterj@umass.edu

 

Jung, Geunhwa

Stockbridge School of Agriculture/
206 Paige

545-2243

Molecular genetics and breeding of disease resistance in grasses and population genetics of plant pathogenic fungi

jung@umass.edu

Jung/Turf Pathology Lab

Ma, Li-Jun

Biochem/LSL N433

545-1205

Comparative fungal genomics: A gateway toward understanding genome innovation and adaptation.

lijun@biochem.umass.edu

Ma Lab

Mangan, Frank

Stockbridge School of Agriculture/ Paige

545-1178

Vegetable production with an emphasis on soil fertility and ethnic crops

fmangan@umass.edu

Manning, William

Stockbridge School of Agriculture/


Fernald 207B

545-2289
545-2837

Assessing air pollution effects on plant growth and reproduction, bioindicators, plant growth in urban environments.

wmanning@microbio.umass.edu

Miller, Jill Amherst College/Biology Life Sci 224

542-2168

Ecology and evolution of plant sexual systems, floral evolution, incompatibility systems, phenotypic plasticity

jsmiller@amherst.edu

Miller Lab

Normanly, Jennifer

Biochem/ LGRT-B 922 and LSL N563

545-3422

Metabolic regulation and engineering

normanly@biochem.umass.edu

Parkash, Om Stockbridge School of Agriculture/ 318 Paige 545-0062 Plant genetic engineering and biotechnology, phytoremediation of soil contaminants parkash@umass.edu

Roberts, Susan

Chem.Eng / LSL N529

545-1660

Optimization of secondary metabolite accumulation in plant cell tissue cultures

sroberts@ecs.umass.edu

 

Schnell, Danny

Biochem/ LSL N431

545-4024

Intracellular protein targeting and chloroplast biogenesis

dschnell@biochem.umass.edu

 

Tyler, Ludmila

Biochem / LSL N463

545-4026

Plant cell walls, bioenergy, grass developmental biology

ltyler@biochem.umass.edu

 

Vierling, Elizabeth

Biochem/ LSL N329

577-2890

Molecular chaperone function in the cytosol and organelles, plant stress response

vierling@biochem.umass.edu

 

Walker, Elsbeth

Biology/
Morrill 3 - 129A. Director, PB Program

545-0861
545-9622

Molecular genetic approaches to studying mechanisms of metal ion homeostasis in plants

ewalker@bio.umass.edu

Walker Lab

Wang, Dong

Biochem/LSL N429

545-4806

Mechanisms of intracellular symbiosis between eukaryotic legume hosts and nitrogen-fixing bacteria

dongw@biochem.umass.edu

 

Wick, Robert

Stockbridge School of Agriculture/
Fernald 111

545-1045

Bacterial and fungal diseases of vegetable and greenhouse crops, nematode diseases of turf, plant disease diagnostics

rlwick@umass.edu

Winship, Lawrence Hampshire College/Natural Sciences/CSC 101 559-5387 Regulation of cell wall expansion during oscillatory growth in lily pollen tubes ljwNS@hampshire.edu

Xing, Baoshan

Stockbridge School of Agriculture/
410 Paige

545-5212

Environmental behavior of emerging contaminants and their interactions with plants

bx@umass.edu


About PB | Program Requirements | Admissions | Research Areas
Faculty | Students | Seminar Series | Directory | Contact Us

Plant Biology Graduate Program • 217 Morrill Science Ctr. • UMass Amherst • 611 N. Pleasant St.• Amherst, MA 01003-9297 • Ph: 413.577.3217 • Fax: 413.545.3243


© 2007 University of Massachusetts Amherst. Site Policies.
This site is maintained by S. Capistran, Plant Biology Graduate Program.
Comments to pb@bio.umass.edu